LibGuides: Big Seven: Home

General Information

1) Have one group member create a new project in N oodleTools where you can all track your citations and take notes. Have that person add all group members as student collaborators. Follow these instructions on how to do that: student collaborators

2) Brainstorm some keywords to use when you search; ie. "acid rain" or "acid rain AND causes"

3) Search the databases and websites listed below. Tip: If you use ABC-CLIO, search specifically in the ISSUES database.

4) Use the print resources available.

5) If you need to access a database from off-campus, use the usernames and passwords listed below each database

Example of a good annotation:

Recommended Databases

ABC-CLIO This link opens in a new window
Primary and secondary source material for historical research

Username: northweststudent
Password: library
Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Includes the complete encyclopedia, world atlas and more.

Username: nwest
Password: seattleprep
eLibrary This link opens in a new window
Articles, photos, maps, and transcripts from magazines, newspapers, radio and television news programs, and reference books
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Database of current magazines and newspapers
Username: 00PVC89BKS
Password: WELCOME
Science in Context This link opens in a new window
A database with hundreds of today's most significant science topics, showcasing how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues.

Password: tnws
Today's Science This link opens in a new window
Bridges the gap between the science that students learn in the classroom and the discoveries pushing the boundaries of science today

Username: northwestwa
Password: library
World Book Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Online Reference Center including World Atlas, Dictionary, World Book Kids, World Book Advanced, and Spanish Language Encyclopedia

Username: nwslib
Password: library

Useful Websites

Acid Rain
via National Atmospheric Deposition Foundation
Greenhouse Effect
via Live Science
Greenhouse Effect
via National Geographic
Ice Caps Melting
"Six ways loss of Arctic ice impacts everyone" via World Wildlife Fund
Ice Caps Melting / Glaciers Melting
"Melting of the Thwaites Glacier could rewrite the global coastline" via PBS News Hour
Ocean Acidification
via NOAA Pacific Marine Environmental Laboratory
Ocean Acidification
via Natural Resources Defense Fund
Ocean Acidification
via Smithsonian Ocean Portal
Ozone
"What is Ozone" via EPA
Ozone
"Ozone Watch" via NASA
Permafrost In a Warming World
via Weather Underground, includes links to International Permafrost Association and other reputable research organizations.
Permafrost Melting
via New York Times, "Alaska's Permafrost is Thawing"
Scientists Nearly Double Sea Level Rise Projections for 2100
via Washington Post
Sea Level
via NOAA, "Is Sea Level Rising?"
Coral Bleaching
"Everything You Need To Know About Coral Bleaching" via World Wildlife Fund
Coral Bleaching
"Australia's Great Barrier Reef is hit with mass coral bleaching yet again" via NPR

Notable BIPOC Climate Leaders / Researchers

Dr Adrienne Hollis
Adrienne Hollis, Senior Climate Justice and Health Scientist at the Union of Concerned Scientists. Adrienne L Hollis began her career researching health effects from ozone exposure
Dr Warren Washington
Warren Washington, a senior scientist at the National Center for Atmospheric Research (NCAR). Computer modeling of the atmosphere is something he is passionate about
Jasmine Sanders
executive director of Our Climate. Our Climate empowers young people to advocate for the science-based, equitable and intersectional climate justice policies that build a thriving world
Robert D. Bullard
Referred to as “the father of environmental justice,” Bullard is a former Dean of the Barbara Jordan-Mickey Leland School of Public Affairs at Texas Southern University and now is a professor of Urban Planning and Environmental Policy
Rue Mapp
founder of Outdoor Afro, a national not-for-profit organization which “celebrates and inspires Black connections and leadership in nature,”
"As the Arctic thaws, Indigenous Alaskans demand a voice in climate change research"
National Science Foundation program struggles to bridge scientists and communities
An Indigenous-Designed Path to Sea Level Rise Adaptation
The WAMPUM framework provides a path forward for tribal nations to help guide them in adapting to sea level rise using cultural knowledge and skills.
Black in Marine Science
Black In Marine Science started as a week to highlight and amplify Black voices in the field and encourage younger generations, while also shedding light on the lack of diversity in marine science.
Salome Ursula Buglass
A marine ecologist at the Charles Darwin Research Station in Galápagos, Ecuador.
Ruleo Camacho
Ruleo’s interdisciplinary approach to marine science and stewardship is exactly what we need to tackle 21st -century ocean challenges
Sea Gaynus
The society we live in has been unforgiving to Black Women. I navigate professional spaces that were never meant for me , a Black Woman and a Marine Scientist, to exists. I want change and use my platform to make the change needed for a more diverse group of scientist to exist.

NoodleTools

Quick Guide for Students
Covers the basic help questions

E-Books

Use the code tnws for off campus access.

Librarian

Alicia Kalan

She/Her