LibGuides: HUM 12 Research Project: Jeremy's Section : Home

Recommended Databases

ABC-CLIO This link opens in a new window
Primary and secondary source material for historical research

Username: northweststudent
Password: library
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of scholarly journal articles

Username: nwschool
Password: 2nw4jstor
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Database of current magazines and newspapers
Username: 00PVC89BKS
Password: WELCOME
Science in Context This link opens in a new window
A database with hundreds of today's most significant science topics, showcasing how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues.

Password: tnws
Today's Science This link opens in a new window
Bridges the gap between the science that students learn in the classroom and the discoveries pushing the boundaries of science today

Username: northwestwa
Password: library
U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new window
Provides an overview of our nation's past, covering the most-studied events, decades, conflicts, wars, political and cultural movements, and people.

Password: tnws
World Book Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Online Reference Center including World Atlas, Dictionary, World Book Kids, World Book Advanced, and Spanish Language Encyclopedia

Username: nwslib
Password: library

American National Elections Studies
Provides data from surveys on political participation.
Facing History & Ourselves
provides resources to combat bigotry.
Global Footprint Network
Human Rights Watch
Lambda Legal
Nonprofit organization whose mission works civil rights issues impacting lesbian, gay men, bisexuals, transgender people and everyone living with HIV through impact litigation, education and public policy work.
National Center for Veterans Analysis and Statistics
From the US Dept. of Veteran's Affairs
PEW Research Center
Public polling information that includes global numbers, facts and trends.
Racial Equity Resource Guide
searchable database that includes organizations working on racial equity and a variety of issues and topics.
Teaching Tolerance
provides resources on issues of diversity and equity.
United Nations: Demographic and Social Statistics
Demographic data including stats on population housing, gender, disability and race.
United Nations Human Development Reports
United Sates Census Data
find demographic data

Now you have your sources! Use the following writing tips to comprise your paper:

Provide background information or context - You can use facts and statistics to support generalizations. They also help the reader understand why your topic is important.
Explain items or concepts - explain words or ideas the reader may not understand. Use quotes or paraphrase a source. This can help you clarify concepts. However, its important that you explain why you've used a quote. How does it help further your argument?
Support your claims - Back up your arguments with facts and evidence from sources.
Lend authority to your argument -credible opinions help bolster your argument/thesis. But don't rely on them to make the argument for you. One major goal of research is to cultivate your own scholarly voice. He point of research is to cultivate your own scholarly voice. Use your own words and cite authoritative sources to back up your claim.
Anticipate and counter views - it's important to use sources that conflict with your position. Don't ignore them. Use them to provide opposing points of view and then counter them with evidence. using sources that conflict with your position

Evaluating Information
Libguide via University of Washington. Tips on evaluating different types of sources (news, websites, etc).
Media Bias Fact Checker
Not sure of the bias of a news source? Look it up here.

The History of the Idea of Race
via Britannica Encyclopedia.
How Science and Genetics are Reshaping the Race Debate of the 21st Century
popular source via Harvard Graduate School of Arts & Sciences blog.
Ideas of Race in Early America
via Oxford Research Encyclopedia
Race, the Power of an Illusion
via PBS. This source is a bit dated, but a good place to start developing additional keywords.
Race and Racial Identity are Social Constructs
via The New York Times. If having trouble accessing this, email Alicia or Charlotte.
The Science of Race
via Facing History Facing Ourselves. Provides broad overview (American context) and facts including dates.
There's no Basis for Race, it's a Made-Up Label
via National Geographic
White Fragility
via International Journal of Critical Pedagogy