LibGuides: Communism vs Capitalism: Home

General Information

1) Create a new project in NoodleTools where you can track your citations and take notes.

2) Brainstorm some keywords to use when you search; ie. "USSR" (not - russia) or "Communism AND health care"

3) Search the databases and websites listed below.

4) If you need to access a database from off-campus, use the usernames and passwords listed below each one.

ABC-CLIO This link opens in a new window
Primary and secondary source material for historical research

Username: northweststudent
Password: library
Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Includes the complete encyclopedia, world atlas and more.

Username: nwest
Password: seattleprep
CultureGrams This link opens in a new window
Information on the cultures of 187 countries & territories in reports that include maps, statistics and recipes

Username: pr121nwsch
Password: culture
eLibrary This link opens in a new window
Articles, photos, maps, and transcripts from magazines, newspapers, radio and television news programs, and reference books
History Study Center This link opens in a new window
A collection of primary and secondary sources on global history from ancient times to the present day
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of scholarly journal articles

Username: nwschool
Password: 2nw4jstor
U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new window
Provides an overview of our nation's past, covering the most-studied events, decades, conflicts, wars, political and cultural movements, and people.

Password: tnws
World Book Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Online Reference Center including World Atlas, Dictionary, World Book Kids, World Book Advanced, and Spanish Language Encyclopedia

Username: nwslib
Password: library

She/Her

The Collapse of Communism by Stewart Ross
Call Number: 335.43 ROS
ISBN: 9781403455253
Publication Date: 2004-06-14
Communism by Sue Vander Hook
Call Number: 321.9 HOO
ISBN: 9781617147890
Publication Date: 2011-01-01