LibGuides: Creative Non-Fiction Research Project: Home

NoodleTools

NoodleTools

Framing Your Research Question

Relearning the Art of Asking Questions
via Harvard Business Review
How to Write a Research Question
via The Writing Center @ George Mason University
Narrowing a Topic & Developing a Research Question
Adapted from The Writing Center @ George Mason University

What Is Creative Non-Fiction?

Evaluating Sources

O - Origin

Where did the source come from? Who is the author? When was this created? What is the context of this piece?

P - Purpose

Why does this piece exist? Why was it published? Who is the intended audience?

V - Value

What value does this source provide to my research? How relevant is it? How does it help you understand your topic?

L - Limitation

Where does this source fall short in helping you with your research? Is it biased?

Media Bias Fact Check
Unsure of the bias of a news source? Check here.

Video Tutorials

Recommended Databases

American Indian History Online This link opens in a new window
Offers fast access to more than 600 Native American groups and over 15,000 years of American Indian culture and history

Username: northwestwa
Password: library
Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Includes the complete encyclopedia, world atlas and more.

Username: nwest
Password: seattleprep
Image Quest This link opens in a new window
Millions of rights-cleared images from one trusted site

Username: nwest
Password: seattleprep
NewsBank This link opens in a new window
Username: nwslib
Password: library
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Database of current magazines and newspapers
Username: 00PVC89BKS
Password: WELCOME
U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new window
Provides an overview of our nation's past, covering the most-studied events, decades, conflicts, wars, political and cultural movements, and people.

Password: tnws
World Book Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Online Reference Center including World Atlas, Dictionary, World Book Kids, World Book Advanced, and Spanish Language Encyclopedia

Username: nwslib
Password: library

Useful Websites

Education
via National Congress of American Indians
National Indian Education Association
"The State of Native Education"
via Washington State Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction
Combating Food Insecurity on Native American Reservations
via Partnership with Native Americans
Native American Food Sovereignty Alliance
Water Rights
via Native American Rights Fund
"Many Native Americans Can't Get Clean Water, Report Finds"
via National Public Radio
Health Disparities
via Indian Health Service
"Native Americans Feel Invisible In U.S. Health Care System"
via National Public Radio
"Native American Women Are Facing a Crisis"
via New York Times
"Ending Violence Against Native Women"
via Indian Law Resource Center
Coalition to Stop Violence Against Native Women
"Reading, Writing and Preserving: Native Languages Sustain Native Communities"
via Native American magazine of the Smithsonian's National Museum of the American Indian
"Ending the Era of Harmful “Indian” Mascots"
via National Council of American Indians
IllumiNative
IllumiNative is a new nonprofit initiative designed to increase the visibility of – and challenge the negative narrative about – Native Nations and peoples in American society.
Native American Voting RIghts
via Native American Rights Fund
The Heard Museum
The mission of the Heard Museum is to be the world’s preeminent museum for the presentation, interpretation and advancement of American Indian art, emphasizing its intersection with broader artistic and cultural themes.