LibGuides: Pre-Columbian Contact Cultures: Home

General Information

1) Create a new project in N oodleTools where you can track your citations and annotations

2) Brainstorm some keywords to use when you search; be mindful of different spellings (Tukolor / Toucouleur, Wolof / Wollof / Jolof)

3) Search the databases and websites listed below.

4) If you need to access a database from off-campus, use the usernames and passwords listed below each database.

ABC-CLIO This link opens in a new window
Primary and secondary source material for historical research

Username: northweststudent
Password: library
American Indian History Online This link opens in a new window
Offers fast access to more than 600 Native American groups and over 15,000 years of American Indian culture and history

Username: northwestwa
Password: library
U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new window
Provides an overview of our nation's past, covering the most-studied events, decades, conflicts, wars, political and cultural movements, and people.

Password: tnws
World Book Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Online Reference Center including World Atlas, Dictionary, World Book Kids, World Book Advanced, and Spanish Language Encyclopedia

Username: nwslib
Password: library
World Religions Online This link opens in a new window
Explores religion and spirituality in an unbiased manner, from the ceremonies of the first practitioners to the rituals of today

Username: northwestwa
Password: library

To access from off campus - use the code tnws

Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Includes the complete encyclopedia, world atlas and more.

Username: nwest
Password: seattleprep

Aztecs
via Education and outreach collections from the University of Chicago
Inca Medicine: Religion, Culture, and Ethnobotany
via Central College
Mixtec
via Latin American Studies Department at San Diego State University
Rise of the Inca
via Nova
Taino Museum
via Taino Museum of Haiti
Taíno - Native Heritage and Identity in the Caribbean
via Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indian
Unearthing the secrets of the Aztecs
via The Harvard Gazette
World History Encyclopedia
Tupiniquim
via Povos Indigenas no Brasil