LibGuides: Expose-ition Research: Home

General Information

1) Create a new project in NoodleTools where you can track your citations and take notes.

2) Brainstorm some keywords to use when you search databases; i.e. "Cuba AND United States Imperialism" or "Chicago World's Fair AND imperialism" or "Columbian Exposition AND racism" or "Pan-American International Exposition" or "Crystal Palace Exposition"

3) Use the websites listed below.

4) If you need to access a database from off-campus, use the usernames and passwords listed below each one.

Destiny Catalog

Find:

Advanced Search

Recommended Databases

ABC-CLIO This link opens in a new window
Primary and secondary source material for historical research

Username: northweststudent
Password: library
Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Includes the complete encyclopedia, world atlas and more.

Username: nwest
Password: seattleprep
History Study Center This link opens in a new window
A collection of primary and secondary sources on global history from ancient times to the present day
Image Quest This link opens in a new window
Millions of rights-cleared images from one trusted site

Username: nwest
Password: seattleprep
U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new window
Provides an overview of our nation's past, covering the most-studied events, decades, conflicts, wars, political and cultural movements, and people.

Password: tnws
World Book Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Online Reference Center including World Atlas, Dictionary, World Book Kids, World Book Advanced, and Spanish Language Encyclopedia

Username: nwslib
Password: library

"Doing the Pan": the African-American experience at the Pan-American Exposition, 1901.
by Barbara A. Seals Nevergold, Ph.D. in Counseling Education from the University of Buffalo. Presently, she is the Director of Student Support Services of the University's Educational Opportunity Center
1904 World's Fair: Looking Back at Looking Forward
via Missouri Historical Society
American Imperialism LibGuide
via Southern Connecticut State University, includes many links organized by topic and time period
A Filipino bloodline rooted in St. Louis' human zoo
via Smithsonian Asian Pacific American Center
Mapping Empire in Omaha and Buffalo: WORLD'S FAIRS AND THE SPANISH-AMERICAN WAR
via JSTOR
The Story of American Imperialism
via NPR
A Trip Around the Pan American Exposition: films
via the Library of Congress
World's Columbian Exposition
via University of Virginia
A ‘civilized’ commerce: gender, ‘race’, and empire at the 1893 Chicago Exposition
via Dartmouth College
‘Electrifying Fall of Rainbow City’ a colorful look at 1901 Pan-Am
via The Buffalo News, this article features a discussion of the racial and ethnic stereotypes at the fair.

E-Books

For off-campus use, use "tnws" as the password

Expose-ition Research: Home

General Information

Destiny Catalog

Recommended Databases

Related Articles

E-Books