Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
1) Create a new project in NoodleTools where you can track your citations and take notes.
2) Brainstorm some keywords to use when you search; ie. "immigration" or "Chinese immigration AND 19th century"
3) Search the databases and websites listed below.
4) Use the print resources available to look for information on your group.
5) If you need to access a database from off-campus, use the usernames and passwords listed below each one.
ABC-CLIO This link opens in a new window
Primary and secondary source material for historical research
Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Includes the complete encyclopedia, world atlas and more.
eLibrary This link opens in a new window
Articles, photos, maps, and transcripts from magazines, newspapers, radio and television news programs, and reference books
History Study Center This link opens in a new window
A collection of primary and secondary sources on global history from ancient times to the present day
World Book Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Online Reference Center including World Atlas, Dictionary, World Book Kids, World Book Advanced, and Spanish Language Encyclopedia
Image Quest This link opens in a new window
Millions of rights-cleared images from one trusted site
Angel Island Resources
via Angel Island Immigration Station Foundation
"Chinese in California" via the Bancroft Library at UC Berkeley
via Ellis Island Foundation
via Library of Congress (Irish, Italian, and Chinese can be found here)
Immigration from India, China, Japan, Russia, and Philippines
via KQED public broadcasting, includes information about immigration from each country.
Interviews with Today's Immigrants
Interviews via the Library of Congress
via United States Embassy
"From Haven to Home" via Library of Congress
Jewish Immigration to American
from My Jewish Learning, written by Joellyn Zollman, PhD in Jewish History from Brandeis
Migration Policy Institute
provides Immigrant Profiles and Demographics
Migration Policy Institute Data Hub
provides interactive maps, data about U.S. and global migration
Asian Pacific American Heritage Resource Guide
via the State of Washington: Commission on Asian Pacific American Affairs
If you're trying to access the e-books from off campus, use the code: tnws
Related Titles in Our Collection