Welcome to the Northwest School Library: Sustainability

via King County, the 2015 SCAP is a five-year blueprint for County action to confront climate change, integrating climate change into all areas of County operations and its work in the community.

via Seattle.gov, The Seattle Climate Action Plan, adopted in June 2013, focuses on city actions that reduce greenhouse emissions and also support vibrant neighborhoods, economic prosperity, and social equity. Actions are focused on areas of greatest need and impact: road transportation, building energy and waste.

via Seattle.gov, developed and adopted by the Community Partners Steering Committee to guide the Equity & Environment Initiative.

via Seattle.gov, addresses the question: What do racism and poverty have to do with pollution & climate change?

via Seattle.gov, search for local responses to/information about climate change, building energy, equity and environment, and food policy and programs.

via WEC, includes information on green energy, legislative priorities, and news stories

via the EPA

via Climate.gov

via Washington.gov, committed to protect, preserve, and enhance Washington's environment for current and future generations.

via ACE, Climate change is our generation's biggest challenge.

via NIH, includes full lesson plan

via Global change.gov

via Stanford University

via CLEAN, includes a A collection of ~700 free, ready-to-use resources rigorously reviewed by educators and scientists.

via the EPA, provides lesson plans and resources

via Carleton College, provides resources for teachers across disciplines

via NSF

via NOAA's climate.gov

via Teaching Tolerance

via Teaching Tolerance

The UW Botanic Gardens is a unit within the School of Environmental & Forest Sciences.

via University of Michigan's Center for Sustainable Systems

INSPIRING CARE FOR OUR COMMUNITIES
Through the research and practice of social, economic, and environmental sustainability.

The Climate Impacts Group is widely recognized for scientific discovery, as an experienced creator of impartial & actionable science and as a catalyst for building regional climate resilience.

The issues we face today demand a combination of discovery, leadership and an impactful connection with our communities. UW Environment works at this intersection, bridging the divide between scientific disciplines, stakeholders and societies, policymakers and the public. Search for programs and resources on this page.

EarthLab reimagines the world as it could be, while impacting the world as it is. Equal parts research engine and community catalyst, EarthLab harnesses the power of co-created solutions to our most imminent environmental challenges.

via University of Washington

The essential news for energy & environment policy.

Founded in 1999, Grist is a beacon in the smog — an independent, irreverent news outlet and network of innovators working toward a planet that doesn’t burn and a future that doesn’t suck.

via Seattle.gov, find information about Seattle's Food Action Plan, the Regional Food System, etc.

Got Green builds community power by waging visionary campaigns at the intersection of racial, economic, gender and climate justice that incite community participation (via robust base-building), provides a pipeline of leadership development for directly impacted communities, and engages in direct action. Our three grassroots committees — Food Access, Young Leaders, and Climate Justice — are our primary vehicles of building power and creating change.

community driven policy solutions
We are on the forefront of driving some of the nation’s most dynamic policies for climate, economic, and racial justice.

Our commitment to environmental justice, racial justice, and equity grows as we strengthen relationships and partnerships.

Students and communities across Washington State are working to create greener, healthier school environments. Together we are building a better world — now and for future generations. Washington Green Schools provides a system of support for school communities to set and achieve sustainability goals.