Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
1) Create a new project in NoodleTools where you can track your citations and take notes.
2) Brainstorm some keywords and search terms to use when you search; ie. "world war 1 AND women", "battles of world war one"
3) Search the databases and websites listed below.
4) Use the print resources available to look for information. Search print resources by using the index at the back of each book.
ABC-CLIO This link opens in a new window
Primary and secondary source material for historical research
African American History Online This link opens in a new window
Features thousands of cross-referenced entries, covering the entire spectrum of African-American history over the past 500 years
Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Includes the complete encyclopedia, world atlas and more.
eLibrary This link opens in a new window
Articles, photos, maps, and transcripts from magazines, newspapers, radio and television news programs, and reference books
Image Quest This link opens in a new window
This is a great resource to gather images for your project
U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new window
Provides an overview of our nation's past, covering the most-studied events, decades, conflicts, wars, political and cultural movements, and people.
World Book Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Online Reference Center including World Atlas, Dictionary, World Book Kids, World Book Advanced, and Spanish Language Encyclopedia
Also known as: World War 1, World War One, The Great War, First World War, The War to End All Wars
Time frame: 1914-1918
Related Titles in Our Collection