LibGuides: Welcome to the Northwest School Library: Remote Learning Resources

Accessing NWS Library Resources

1. When utilizing NWS databases off-campus, you will need to enter usernam/passwords. Access full list with password information here.

2. Need access to an article/book and having trouble locating it? Email Alicia or Charlotte.

3. Explore our e-book collection through Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) For off-campus access, use the location code tnws.

4. Access LibGuides. All project LibGuides organized by project name. You can also search or sort by subject.

5. Audiobooks via Destiny Discover. You can access audiobooks on your personal devices. Below you'll fin instructions on how to access these books through either your browser or an app. To log into Destiny use your NWS username and the password Welcome 2019.

6.Citation help and Noodletools. Noodletools can be used for student research or for close reading/reading comprehension.

Instructions for audiobooks

Learning Support Tools

Planning for Online Learning to Support All
Resources and information from Learning Support department. This includes Hilary's presentation from online learning PD session.
Learning Ally
Access digital audiobooks.
Check with the Learning Resources team or the Librarians to get your username and password.
Book Share
Access digital audiobooks.
Check with the Learning Resources team for your username and password.
Speechify
Human Quality Text to Speech App. Scan a book with your camera, have it read out loud.
Listen to your favorite Books, PDFs, and
DDs: Dictionary for students with Dyslexia
Free downloadable app

Discipline Specific Ideas for Remote Learning

British Museum, London: Virtual Tour
Allows virtual visitors to tour the Great Court and discover the ancient Rosetta Stone and Egyptian mummies.
Guggenheim Museum: Virtual Tour
Discover works of art from the Impressionist, Post-Impressionist, Modern and Contemporary eras.
Humanities
Digital Public Library of America includes digitized primary source sets and lesson builders for research and other humanities projects.
Humanities, Science, Music & Visual Arts
Smithsonian Open Access, allows you to download, share, and reuse millions of the Smithsonian’s images. Also includes a free open access tool to build lessons and remote projects. This resource includes images and data from across the Smithsonian’s 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo.
Humanities: Film
Free catalog of Indigenous films online.
Humanities: Writing
online writing and language learning platform.Create a free account for teachers and access resources to differentiate writing assignments.
Ideas for Distance Learning
Provides subject/grade specific ideas. Also includes strategies to monitor student participation via Microsoft teams. Teams allows for date and time stamps with duration and students are allowed to indicate the quality of the connection.
Khan Academy
Free online courses, classes and practice.
Language
Duolingo provides free language learning.
Language
Mango: this interactive tool offers more than 70 languages to practice conversation skills in another language. Please note, you will need a Seattle Public Library card to log-in. If you don't have a SPL card, email Alicia or Charlotte for access.
Languages
Teach language through fun activities and games. Access for free without an account.
Math
Rigour: Numeracy for Learning. Offering free subscriptions for schools impacted by closings.
Music
Music distance learning resources & activities
Music
Free streaming performances from the Seattle Symphony.
Music
Search a variety of online music activities by grade.
Music
Play music live and in sync with others from different locations
National Museum of Anthropology, Mexico City
Explore 23 exhibit rooms virtually at this museum dedicated to the archaeology and history of Mexico.
National Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art, Seoul
This virtual tour takes you through six floors of contemporary art from Korea and all over the globe.
Science
PHET interactive from the University of Colorado Boulder. Search via grade level and subject to find online activities.
Science
Includes online science stimulation's, lessons and video content.
Science - Middle School
Help students discover science with flexible content creation tools.
Science: NASA Archives
Entire NASA collection of images, sounds, and video available.This open access database allows users to download and use for free.
Visual Arts
Art lessons geared for middle to high school that can all be done at home with little or basic art supplies.
Visual Arts: Photography
Photopea: free online photo manipulation application that is similar to Photoshop.
Writing/Humanities
Daily writing prompts for students from The New York Times.

Teaching & Learning about COVID-19 (multiple disciplines)
This contains lessons/resources on COVID-19 organized around various curricular areas.

Training for Remote Learning

Global Online Academy
Designing for online learning
15 Strategies for Online Learning
via Global Online Academy

EdTech Tips for Remote Learning

Remote Learning Resources on Faculty Commons

1) Review this tutorial from EdTech on setting up remote learning.

2) Tips for learning online.

3) Tips for using Microsoft Teams

4) Setting system audio when sharing screen via Teams

5) Tips for using Oba

6) Recording yourself using Panopto

7) Tips for students on how to submit assignments and join meetings.

Microsoft Teams Quick Guide

Digital Tools for Remote Learning

Anchor
Free service for recording, hosting, and distributing podcasts.
Audible
Offering free access to audio-books during school closures for students.
EdPuzzle
A popular tool to create interactive YouTube videos to check students’ understanding. Basic plans are free for teachers and students.
FlipGrid
Create grids to facilitate asynchronous video discussions that are very engaging for students. Free.
Kahoot
Create fun learning games.
Lynda.com
Learn a new skill at your own pace, with thousands of courses covering animation, audio, video, business skills, marketing, design, photography, programming and much more. Seattle Public Library card needed. If you don't have a SPL library card email Alicia or Charlotte for access.
Padlet
Online collaboration
PearDeck
Design lessons with interactive questions, polls, quizzes, and formative assessments. Works with Google Slides. Pear Deck Premium is free for 90 days for schools affected by closures.
Podcasts for the Classroom
Scroll down to view middle through upper school and subject specific podcasts.

Links to other libraries

Digital Public Libraries of America
King County Library Library System
Library of Congress
Open Library
Open Library is an open, editable library catalog that allows users to borrow e-books for free. Search by topic, author or title.
Seattle Public LIbrary
*To access SPL online resources if you don't have a SPL card, email Alicia or Charlotte.
University of Washington Libraries
Washington State Library